Frelinghuysen Honored with Navy's Distinguished Public Service Award

Rodney this week was bestowed the United States Navy’s highest civilian honor, the Distinguished Public Service Award.  Secretary of the Navy, Raymond Mabus, made the presentation in a ceremony in his Washington office on Thursday.

“As an Army draftee many years ago, it never crossed my mind that the United States Navy would see fit to honor my service,” Rodney said.  “But I am truly honored to receive the Navy Distinguished Public Service Award.  Supporting our sailors and Marines —past and present—has been, and will remain, a priority for me.”

The citation from Secretary Mabus states: “Congressman Frelinghuysen’s long and selfless service to the Nation’s Sailors and Marines ensured they were provided the resources necessary to support and defend the Nation’s interests around the globe. His courageous leadership...greatly contributed to the quality of the United States’ naval forces, continued support for quality of life for the men and women of the Department of the Navy and made certain the Navy-Marine Corps team was the most lethal in history. Congressman Frelinghuysen’s tireless advocacy for the Navy’s shipbuilding programs ensured the highest levels of readiness for our combat forces. With grateful appreciation for years of service to the Nation...the Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen is awarded the Department of the Navy Distinguished Public Service Award.”

The Navy Distinguished Public Service Award, established in 1951, is an award presented by the U.S. Secretary of the Navy to civilians for “specific courageous or heroic acts or exceptionally outstanding service of substantial and long-term benefit to the Navy, Marine Corps, or Department of the Navy as a whole.”

Rodney serves as Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development, Vice-Chairman of the Subcommittee on Defense and with the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence.  He has served on the U.S. Naval Academy Board of Visitors since 2008.