Important Resources Regarding Hurricane Sandy

Here are some important resources following the storm:

New Jersey Office of Emergency Management:

New Jersey Emergency Helpline:
Dial 2-1-1 or (877) 652-1148

FEMA's preparedness page:

FEMA's homepage

FEMA's site for individual assistance

Internal Revenue Service's site for hurricane tax relief,,id=245004,00.html?portlet=7

Information for businesses affected by the hurricane: New Jersey’s Business Action Center (BAC), 1-866-534-7789 or U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA):

Morris County Office of Emergency Management: (973) 829-8600 or

Essex County Office of Emergency Management: (973) 621-4111or

Passaic County Office of Emergency Management: (973) 881-7500 or

Somerset County Office of Emergency Management: (908) 725-5070 or

Sussex County Office of Emergency Management: (973) 579-0380 or

Family Preparedness - Floods and Flash Floods:

Family Preparedness - Power Outages:

New Jersey Flood Status:

Environmentla Protection Agency on septic systems:

American Red Cross of Northern New Jersey: 1 (800) 507-6058 or

Utilities: If you have a flooded basement, power outage, or smell gas please call (800) 436-7734.

PSE&G outage map

JCP&L outage map 

New Jersey Transit:
For current bus and rail schedules, please visit or call (973) 275-5555.

Road Conditions:
For current information on area roads, please visit  

Department of Banking and Insurance:

Department of Health and Senior Services: or contact their hotline at 1-866-234-0964.

Department of Transportation / NJ Transit:
For up to the minute transportation information including road closings, evacuation routes and all other breaking news all residents should go to While this web-site will have some NJ TRANSIT information we always encourage NJT customers to look for up to the minute information at

Department of Environmental Protection:

Gasoline price gouging: The Governor's declaration of a State of Emergency activates New Jersey's price gouging law.  This law protects consumers who are preparing to evacuate or taking other action to protect themselves before an emergency, or preparing to recover after an emergency. 

The law prohibits the sale of merchandise, including fuel, at an "excessive price increase" during the State of Emergency or within 30 days of the termination of the State of Emergency. 

An excessive price increase is defined as an increase of 10 or more percent above the price at which the good or service was sold immediately prior to the State of Emergency; or, if there are costs imposed by the seller's supplier or additional costs of providing the goods, a price of 10 percent in the markup from cost, compared to the markup ordinarily applied by the seller.

New Jersey law also prohibits gas stations from changing the retail price of motor fuel more than once in a 24 hour period. 

To report violations or complaints, consumers should contact the Division of Consumer Affairs at 1-800-242-5846 or